hello stranger.

My brain is in a mess.

Lady West

leave a comment »

Last night over a bottle of Chivas, Gordon’s Gin and Stout for the boys, we talked from 10pm till 5 in the morning. Its was really refreshing.  Nights like these are far and few in between which makes it so much more worth it when it happens. 

The topic that struck me the most is friendship. I’ve realized that by the time you turn 21, there are a few things that you would have gone through. Your first great love, the realization that some friends are not for keeping and your first great disappointment. Friends are such important people, its crucial to choose well. 

I only have two real friend rules. Well, firstly they cannot be pretentious asses – and that itself is not easy to come by these days. Secondly, they need to be there when the going gets tough, this is so important because so many of us decide to find solace in friends rather then family – well because they know all our dirty little secrets. And that’s it really.

We all know its much easier said then done, so when you do find those friends (well, you really have to be like that first, because like attracts like) you have to keep them as close as possible and never let them go.

I know I have found friends like these over the course of my life and I’ve been lucky enough to have found such friends in uni as well. My course is FULL of privileged, silver spoon kind of people who are not afraid to use you and then forget you, be a secret “mugger” and just ditch a “friend” for one that is richer – which is so scary. I have been really antisocial in uni because of these people. 

I’ve heard that people in my course have said things like I have a permanent PMS face, I find that amusing. I don’t feel the urge to be nice anymore. I know that by the end of the day the people who I know are the important ones, not the people who sit in corners gossiping.

I seriously have some of the best friends that a person can ask for, especially since I’m surrounded by so many pretentious people, and I thank my lucky stars for these people all the time. I really don’t know what I would do without them. Its realizations like these that make me feel so much older then 21, it’s so easy to see right through the fakers the moment you realize that they are all the same.

Written by priya.balraju

October 10, 2008 at 1:17 pm

Posted in Friends

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

