hello stranger.

My brain is in a mess.

Bodywork

leave a comment »

3277952265_037b0e78ac_o

I love Singapore for all that it is, but I can’t help but seeing things that are wrong. No matter how hard I try to see myself growing old here, I can’t. A country is nothing but its people, and I think the people here lack spirit. You know when we were all children and we had the best friends in the world. Everyone was naughty, mischievous, cheeky – no one is like that anymore.

The kids here are like mindless studying machines, and their parents made them that way. Not that they are to blame, they just don’t want their kids to lose out. So these kids grow up, with one intention, to make their parents happy. But the parents are never satisfied – if you are number one in class, why are you not number one in your level? If you are number one in your level, why are you not number one in your school? And this goes on and on and on. Sad, no?

Some lucky ones get to go a little crazy, are brought up in a different environment, learn that being number one is not the only thing important in life and then when they grow up, they see everything wrong here and they leave. I’m not saying that the system is wrong, because its made us who we are, Singapore is so successful and its done so much, but there’s something lacking. And I don’t know what it is, just that the longer I stay here and the harder I look, the more I just want to leave. 

I have to say that the friends I’ve made, both new and old, have shaped the person I am in certain ways, and those who have gone out of my life mostly had no spirit. They were like everyone else. Why would you want that? Why would you want to be exactly like the stranger next to you on the bus. Same dressing, same music, same thoughts, its so sheeplike. Its not wrong to follow trends or to want to be like someone you idolize, but you’ve just got to find your own direction sometime. Trying to be someone else never really gets you anywhere. 

I believe in options, and life gives you that. It gives you opportunities, it all depends on you being wide eyed enough to see them and ballsy enough to grab them.

Written by priya.balraju

February 24, 2009 at 2:55 pm

Posted in Personal

Leave a Reply

